RSS Feed

Day 3 @ UCSF-Testing

Posted on

Yesterday my mom, Kelly, Coleman (my fiance) and I went to UCSF. This was day 3 of tests for Kelly. It was actually my first time there since deciding to move forward with transplant. I thought (or they made it sound like) we were going to watch a video. Instead it was an hour and a half long powerpoint presentation on what to expect, pre, during and post surgery. Most of the stuff we already knew. However, there was one interesting, shocking statistic we learned: 100% of patients who have transplant develop skin cancer 15 years down the road!

Well, I hate to have to screw up their statistics but I won’t be getting skin cancer at any time in my life because God has given me the promise of health. Whether that health comes in the form of supernatural healing, a transplant, or using natural health (I’ve known quite a few people to reverse their cirrhosis with natural health) or slow recovery, God is the author and finisher of all things! Actually, it was kind of a difficult decision for me to lay down reversing my cirrhosis and accepting where God has me at this point in my life. God doesn’t conform to how we think life should go, we just need to have faith and follow where He leads us, even if it’s the complete opposite of what we had thought before.

Kelly had an ultra sound yesterday. It took forever. We were in San Francisco all day. I don’t quite understand how 2 simple appointments can take all day, but they did. I may have mentioned this in my previous post but I will be repetitive. The doctor that did Kelly’s physical and looked over her tests from Tuesday and Wednesday said that he will be recommending her for the transplant! However, that’s not a surprise because she qualified two years ago, but it’s a step forward toward getting us a surgery date. Oh, I’ve also had more energy lately, not much, but I’m really pushing myself to get my endurance up so I can be as healthy as possible for when surgery rolls around. The plus side of this is that by the time I lay my head on the pillow, I’m out like a light! Until I have something else interesting to say… have a great night!

“Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% what you make of it”

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

4 responses »

  1. Kortni, that’s some kind of trial, but PTL that they can even do Liver Transplants – and the living donor kind, too! As far as the side effects… take one day at a time and one trial at a time.

    “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6: 34

    Reply
    • Thanks Amy! I love that scripture. Reading His word is the best way of encouraement, especailly because it’s not in His nature, He can’t lie so every promise in the bible is ours for the taking! =) God bless!

      Reply
  2. Kortni,
    I know exactly how you feel about being at peace with God’s plan for your health. I recently agreed to start teaching a nutrition class at my church (starts this Saturday..nervous and excited), and that forced me to really think about my disease/progression/healing. I realized that I have always prayed for supernatural healing…but always with a bit of unbelief that God would do it for me. I really believe now that this will not kill me and I may or may not ever be completely healed of it. What I do know for sure is that the trials and learning I have been through are thanks to God and for the benefit of people other than myself. I truly believe that God will use me to help others in some way. It is hard for me to think that I won’t wake up better one day, but I think it is so much more of a blessing to have the experience of learing to rely on God for ALL and being able to share that with other people along the way….what better way to glorify our Lord?!?!

    Reply
    • Wow Misty! That’s so awesome. Your church is blessed to have you. I’m sure you have so much wisdom to share. I’ve dont that before at my old church using Jordan Rubin’s materials. It was great. I would still like to get my certificate from the biblical health instistute Jordan has so I can be a biblical health consoltant. Life really is a learning expereince, it’s what we do with what we’ve learned that determines who we will be! I believe God will heal you, more and more every day as you draw closer to Him and reach out more to others. I agree though, when we can bless and praise God in difficult circumstances, that’s the best kind of worship there is!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

