RSS Feed

Surgery Date!

Posted on

We have a tentative surgery date! Yesterday we were supposed to have an appointment with the surgeon, but he got stuck in surgery. We drove all the way to San Francisco essentially for nothing. It wasn’t his fault by any means but regardless it was frustrating. The good news of the day is that our transplant coordinator gave us a few dates to pick from for the transplant. We picked August 12 for our surgery date. That is only 6 weeks away! As long as our last few tests pan out, which they all should, we should be set for August 12. Kelly needs a liver biopsy and I need a cat scan. Then they will reschedule us for appointments with both our surgeons.

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

10 responses »

  1. Kortni..I am so happy to hear that! What a blessing. I am sorry that this has been so tough for you, but God sure is amazing! I will pray that all goes well for everyone involved!

    Reply
    • Thank you Misty! God is amazing. You know, I’m still praying for a miracle but who know, God works in all kinds of ways, maybe this IS my miracle! Either way, I’m excited to be able to move on with my life and so happy to be blessed with an incredibly selfless sister. I just really hate pain haha not looking forward to that part…. Thanks for your prayers!! It means so much to me.

      Reply
  2. August 12th will be here before you know it. I will be sending lots of hugs and prayers to both you and your sister. ( and extra hugs for your family )…..

    Reply
  3. Wow..What wonderful news!!! Before you know it, it will be 12 of august..You will be for sure on my mind that day..and I will be praying for you and your sis…

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Isabel!! I know it is going to go by soo fast and I will have a new liver in the blink of an eye! It’s exciting and a little scary to be honest. Thank you so much for your prayers! =)

      Reply
  4. Wow that is so awesome!! I am so excited for you! Once you recover should this fix most of your health concerns? I will continue to keep you in my prayers!!

    Reply
    • It should hopefully take care of the liver disease. However, I will still have to deal with the chronic lyme disease but that will have to be put on the back burner! Thank you so much for your prayers Krystal!! =)

      Reply
  5. Congratulations Kortni! I donated to my Dad in June of 2008 (we had 8 days notice lol). He is doing fantastic now ~ and the same will happen for you! Sending you love and prayers, from a living liver donor with a healthy Daddy!
    Hugs, Dawn (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

    Reply
    • Thank you Dawn! That’s awesome, it’s great to hear your dad is doing well. Thank you for the prayers and encouragement, it’s always great to hear from other transplant patients!! =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

