RSS Feed

Kelly’s Biopsy & Surgeon Appointment

Posted on

I forgot to write about Kelly’s biopsy! It seems like hers and mine were quite different. She got three numbing shots (lidocaine), including one in her liver. For every shot, they had her exhale completely and hold her breath. She said she didn’t feel the biopsy. She was a little sore and had some shoulder pain.

My biopsy I only got one numbing shot and it felt like they were trying to pull my liver out throw a straw when they did the biopsy (followed by getting kicked in the ribs by a steel toe boot). I also was in quite a bit of pain afterwards. Kelly did much better than I did. Either she is way tougher than me or UCSF does better biopsies than Kaiser. I’m sure UCSF is better at most things… Just interesting to me to see the differences.

I am really excited and nervous about our appointment with the transplant surgeon tomorrow. I have so many questions for him. Literally, I’ve had to make a list. I will let you know how it goes! =)

This verse has really helped me to get through this last week.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

3 responses »

  1. Christine Thompson

    My name is Christine and I am from Sonora, grew up with your Mom. You are in the best place for treatment. In case you didn’t know, UCSF is ranked 7th in the nation!. in early 2008, my daughter, Jamie Whitmore was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer (spindel cell sarcoma – a fast growing nerve tumor). One of her XTERRA triathlete friends is a dr from there and she got in to see the #1 mid-spine neurosurgeon in the nation. Four surgeries and three yrs later she remains cancer free. I have said all this simply to say to you that I have every confidence that you will do well. I am keeping you in my daily prayers so stay strong and positive and I will follow your progress. Google Jamie Whitmore for an inspirational message on meeting challenges through obstacles. No one thought she would walk without her left glut, hamstring muscle, sciatic or sacral nerve. With the help of special prosthesis, she walks, rides a bike, swims and even bends her knee. She is coaching and doing motivational speaking…… I look forward to reading about your recovery and am wishing you God’s very best. Christine Thompson

    Reply
    • Yes, my mom told me about UCSF being #7! I think they are considered #1 or #2 in transplants though which is exciting. That’s great about your daughter! So glad to hear she is she doing well. Thank you for the encouragement and prayers!!

      Reply
  2. Christine Thompson

    One 0f my favorite verses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

