RSS Feed

Stress & Sickness

Posted on

I have been extremely stressed, not only is the transplant drawing near but there is a lot going on in my family (health issues). This morning I woke up with a bad sore throat, stuffy nose and now I have a low-grade fever. I think they will cancel the transplant if I am sick… I need to get better and fast. I am taking vitamin D, apple cider vinegar, elderberry throat spray, zinc lozenges and I plan on starting salt water rinses. I also need to get more sleep. Anxiety causes havoc in my body. I would really appreciate your prayers, I need to be well ASAP! I know it is all in God’s hands though and He works all things together for the good of those who love Him. Only 4 more days until I am admitted!

If you want the peace that passes understanding, you have to give up your right to understand. -Bill Johnson

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

5 responses »

  1. Hi Kortni,

    Hope today finds you feeling better and less stress. You know this is all in God’s hands so let him do his work. I know He has both you and Kelly in his hands and will guide you through. Take a deep breath and try to focus on your new life. I know that is much easier said then done but the stress route has not worked so let it go. Keep up the vitamins, get lots of rest and be strong. You know you are or you could have not gotten to this point. Positive energy and prayer are flowing from all who love you. Soak it up.

    Love,
    Lorraine

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much Lorraine! I love getting comments/encouragement, it really does seem to help. I am feeling better today… however, now that nighttime has rolled around, things always seem to get worse at night… must be my cue to go to bed! =) Thank you for caring and for your thoughts and prayers !

    Reply
  3. Another night has passed and gotten you one step closer to Gos’d glorious plan for you. I heard about yout great family get-to-gether. How fabulous and inspiring that must have been. With such a great family and God by your side what could be more perfect. I wish you lots of good rest and peace girlie. You have a lot of work to plan your perfect wedding as soon as you get well. Be strong and let God and the doctors carry the stress. That is their kob. Your job is to go in calm and come out well. Always thinking of you.

    BTW, please remind me of your admit date, surgery date and time. I assume Kelly is on the same schedule?

    Reply
    • Yes, it was such an awesome night! I am afraid they may cancel surgery though… my cough has become worse. I need a miracle and soon. I am doing a lot better at managing my stress. Thank you =)

      We are admitted on Thursday at 4pm, surgery starts Friday morning for Kelly around 8ish and I go in an hour later. They do that to make sure Kelly’s liver is viable, no point in opening me up if some freak reason it wasn’t, but I know it will be. Kelly’s surgery will be maybe 4-6 hours and mine will be 5-12 hours long.

      Reply
    • I can’t wait to plan a wedding ! Finally!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

