RSS Feed

Cough before surgery

Posted on

My cough seems a bit worse today. It is a deep, dry, non-productive cough. I have no other symptoms (thankfully) besides fatigue of course. I called the transplant coordinator, well my mom did, and she said to contact my primary care doc. So I had a phone appointment with her today and she said she wants to treat this aggressively because surgery is on Friday. She prescribed a cough medicine and an antibiotic. I haven’t really needed much cough medicine though because the cough just comes around every 15-45minutes, it’s not like it is constant.

I asked some other transplant patients about this situation. One of my friends, Kelly (not my sister kelly), and she said she had a cough before her transplant too, they also put her on antibiotics and it took the cough away! And a few others said they will still do surgery even if you are sick, as long as you don’t have an infection (fever, etc). So that is good news, though I can’t imagine it being fun being sick and recovering from a transplant. I don’t have to worry about that though because I believe I will be healed by Friday!

I have been doing a lot better with handling stress. I feel pretty at peace with it, I just needed to give it to God and trust that He is in control! Because when I try, I fail big time. His promises are much easier to stand on then worrying about what could be… if He says He is the Healer and will take away my pain, I believe Him, simple stuff, it’s just a choice to choose faith or fear. FEAR really just is False Evidence Appearing Real!

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”
Matthew 19:26

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

3 responses »

  1. Hello Kortni,

    I wanted to send you some prayers for a safe and successful surgery and recovery for you and your Sister. Our family is praying for you and knows that the LORD will keep his hand on you and your family through this. Remember Jesus is the Lord who heals you and he will never leave you. Ease your mind and leave your stress and anxiety to the Lord. He will renew you and keep you at peace. Know that there are many believers out there who are praying for you and your safe and quick recovery. With great LOVE, Peace and Protection sweet Kortni.

    FAITH -HOPE & LOVE

    WE MUST CHOOSE HOPE OVER FEAR. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. You were created in his image and he is on your side. Two are better then one. It is written is always an appropriate response. He will never leave you. Hope is an anchor to the soul. He has a perfect plan for you. He is the LORD who heals you.

    Reply
  2. yOu are in Go(o)D’s hands, that the best medicine and healing you need, you’ve got it all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

