RSS Feed

Admitted! Night before surgery, ahh!

Posted on

Wow, I can’t believe it is here already. Tomorrow morning is surgery. We got admitted tonight… right now, all I can say is… yay hospital ice! lol… however, it’s bigger than I remember. I talked to like 3 different doctors, all telling me the same thing. Surgery is going to take long, I could have brain, heart or lung damage, they are going to do everything in their power to manage my pain, etc, etc. Kelly’s surgery starts around 7am. However, it will probably be 8 by the time they get her to sleep, start her edidural, get everything situated and actually start her surgery, open her up. Then I will probably go in around 8-830 and they will probably cut me open around 9-10. They don’t want to get our expectations up, so they tell us to expect to be in surgery all day. I’m thinking it will prob. be 4-6 hours for kelly and 5-7 for me.

I did find out something new though! They did the hand encephalopathy test (which means I have high ammonia levels in my brain) which could account for my memory loss/trouble/foggy brain.

Both Kelly and I are pretty nervous. They told me I will have an IV in my neck, that creeps me out. I might also have a breathing tube for a bit after I wake up, Kelly probably won’t. The nurses and doctors have been exceptionally nice, I’ve been really really surprised at how caring they are. I am in room 922 and Kelly is in 945 but I think Kelly will be in my room after she gets out of surgery tomorrow (922) because I go to ICU for a couple days once I’m out of surgery. I lose quite a bit of blood/fluid during surgery. Please be praying for us.

This room is a little older, we have an ancient 1970’s tv and a framed picture that looks like it should be in my grandma’s house. Thankfully, I do have a view of some trees, the fog looks pretty cool going through the trees. I can only imagine what it will look like tomorrow when I am on drugs! haha Thank you to all who have been praying and sent loving messages, I appreciate it! Love you all! =D

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

7 responses »

  1. Kortni, thanks for the last update. Sounds like things are all under control by the doctors. I am sure you are both quite scared but remember all the prayers for you both. They will not stop until they are not needed. I look forward to your first update after surgery. Positive energy, thoughts and prayers all heading your way from Sonora. You to both behave and be strong. Take care.

    Reply
  2. Prayer is so powerful and there seem to be so many praying for you, Kelly and your medical team. Please try to quiet your heart and breathe. I can only imagine the myriad of emotions you both must be feeling, and I hope that you girls have restful sleep tonight. Well, it’s a thought anyway. 😉 What a miracle and priceless gift you’re receiving. And what a future awaits you. Sweet dreams and I’m anxious to hear the good news when your next post tells us you both breezed through the surgeries and are on the road to recovery. God bless.

    Reply
    • Yes, lots of emotions! Having trouble sleeping… I am so thankful for this gift, a new lease of life, my sis is awesome! Coleman will be posting tomorrow! =)

      Reply
    • I really wasn’t too nervous… but I had no idea what lie ahead either! If I had only known… good thing I didn’t! lol Thank you for your encouraging comments, Coleman read all of them to me while I was in the hospital =)

      Reply
  3. Daryl & Debbie Jonescheit

    Prayers and happy thoughts with you, Kelly, Coleman, and your family.
    Love, Daryl and Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

