RSS Feed

Surgery Night

Posted on

This is Coleman (Kortni’s Fiance). I am going to try to do the best I can at this as I am not good at writing. There will be a lot of misspelled words and run-on sentences :).

So we started at 6:00am getting ready and they wheeled Kelly downstairs first, then Kortni. We were in the Pre-Op room. Kelly already had her IV in from the night before, then it was Kortni’s turn for an IV. It took about 45min-1Hour to finally get her IV in and started. They probably poked her a total of 10-12 times in her right hands, right arm, left hand and then finally got it in on the left arm. By this time Kelly had been pushed into the O.R and then they wheeled Kortni off. So Kelly went to surgery around 8:00am and Kortni around 8:45am-9:00am

We heard back a couple time that both the girl were doing great. We heard when they were taking Kelly’s liver and when they were inserting Kelly’s liver into Kortni. Then Kelly was done and Dr. Asher came into our room and told us she was doing great but that the liver portion they cut turned out to be smaller than they thought. They wanted/was expecting 400 but the liver was 300 (I have no clue what this means..possibly grams). Kelly was down in recovery from 1:30 til 4pm.

Kelly showed up in the room around 4pm with a smile on her face and totally being “Kelly” (it was AWESOME to see). Then we heard that Kortni was doing great and having the liver sew’d in. Then we got the news that Kelly’s liver had 2 arteries when they usually only have 1, which I guess is a big complication. 4:00pm-5:00pm. So they called in some Plastic surgeons to do the very tedious and intricate vessel work they’re experts at. Around 9pm a nurse came back in and told us Kortni is doing good and the surgeons are still working on the arteries and that it could take longer 2-6 hours. My sister is a O.R surgical tech and she said to also be aware that it could also take an hour to 3 more hours for stitching and stapling everything up. It is now 10:24pm and we still haven’t heard anything the last we heard was around 9:00pm.

Thank You for all the prayers. I will try to keep updating as I can. Kortni is SO AMAZING and SO STRONG and I am glad she has no clue any of this is going on and probably won’t even know she’s been in surgery over 13+ hours.

Thanks,

Coleman

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

14 responses »

  1. Thanks for all the updates. You are all in my prayers.

    Reply
  2. That’s wonderful to hear that all is going well so far!! She’s n my prayers!!!

    Reply
  3. Thank you, Coleman. We’re praying for Kortni right now. What an amazing and wonderful sister Kelly is! Please continue the updates! Bless you all!!

    Reply
    • Kelly is awesome!!!! She has ALWAYS been the most giving person I know. I never knew that she would have to give such a selfless gift… thank you for your prayers and your friendship Rhonda, coleman and I just love you guys!

      Reply
  4. Whew. Looong day for everyone but Kortni. Another blessing. Love that you’re keeping us all posted. You did a great job, Coleman. What’s that saying?…”Today is the first day of the rest of your life”? Kinda holds true for Kortni, huh. She has a new lease on life thanks to her sister and today’s medical advances.

    Reply
    • Yes, I was quite glad I don’t remember a thing. Even when my liver failed and everyone thought I was going to die and they had to say bye to me… I had no clue that is what people thought… up until yesterday when I found out. I felt so bad for my family! It took the surgeons an hour to tell them that I could live like that for 3 weeks with the failed liver… and by that time they would find me a good cadaver liver. Well it only took a few days and God had the perfect liver for me! What a blessing… and I pray He blessed my donor family over abundantly!

      Reply
  5. Thanks Coleman for the update. Kortni is in my prayers!

    Reply
  6. Coleman – Thank you so much for the update. Kortni is a member of the FB group The Transplant Community Outreach. We have been following her condition and surgery and our global members have been offering prayers and healing thoughts. It is good to know they are both out of surgery. FYI… when I received my lever in Oct 2007, I had to take a liver that was smaller than what my body needed.. I am 6’9″ and 320 lbs. Livers can grow to the size they need to be. It took mine a few months and I could feel something going on inside as it grew…
    Please continue to keep us updated!
    Cheers,
    TRexx
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/thetransplantcommunityoutreach/

    Reply
    • Thank you for your comments Rex…. Coleman read them all to me when I was in ICU (including what the people on facebook said). It was very uplifting. Sorry it took me so long to get back to everyone, it’s just been that crazy!

      Reply
  7. Prayers and thoughts are with you and Kelly, Kortni! Hope the complications are done and all that is left is a peaceful recovery. Coleman, thanks so much for the updates. You are truly a blessing for each other.
    Huggs, Daryl and Debbie Jonescheit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

