RSS Feed

Monday 15th 2011

Posted on

So we woke up this morning and she was having some more pain. I guess she only took 1 oxycodone yesterday morning and it lasted all day and until this morning. She has gotten out of bed a couple times but she hasn’t quite walked yet, hopefully today.

The Doctors came in this morning and took her blood and her blood results were good. The liver was functioning better, her INR dropped from 2.9 to 2.2 on its own which is great. We were kind of nervous cause that could take her off of Priority 1. The Doctor then told us that she keeps her Priority 1 listing for a week. They are very positive they will find a liver by then and they have already denied some livers, they’re not just going to give her any liver. The Doctors also said that if they needed more ttan a week then they could always petition it. What also is good about this is that they can take there time finding the liver cause this one is functioning. Some may ask then since its functioning can she just keep this liver. In the long run it will fail and they will have tons of complications with it and the bile ducts.

So this is great news and the Doctors say that she WILL leave this hospital with a liver!! 🙂 She is sleeping as we speak and she is loving all the positive comment and prayers (I read them all to her).

Kelly….. Is doing great! Yesterday she was up and walking down the hall. She still gets nauseous and dizzy when she gets up but it gets better by the day. She is hoping she can get out by Wednesday (that’s her goal)! She is still eating clear liquids for some reason (I don’t know why she can only have clear liquids when Kortni was eating “normal” food the next day). She is being really positive and just trying to get out of here (who can blame her).

Thanks

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

14 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for the update. Sounds like both girls are heading in the right direction. Will continue to pray for you all.

    Reply
  2. Super great news for Kortni, and so happy to get an update on Kelly! Bless their hearts, I wish this was behind them and they were living their lives already. Sounds like they’re both remarkable, strong, positive women and I know they will both be greatly blessed. Sending love and continued prayers.

    Reply
  3. Hi Kortni!, My name is Alicia and I am a friend of Joe La Pera’s…Actually, I am the LOVE of his life, he is just in denial… I have read your blog and you are doing AMAZING. Always remember the body is very POWERFUL…it can heal itself…set your mind to POSITIVE thoughts…start thinking about what you are going to do when this is over, because you will come out of this on top! You are beautiful and inspiring. Hang in there, you are in my prayers! Alicia

    Reply
  4. Great!!!! It’s really great that I hear Kortni is coming around. Good new about Kelly also. I will keep praying that Kortni gets her new organ – and soon! She is such an inspiration to me while I am on my journey!

    Reply
  5. Christine Thompson

    God is in control and is using her in ways that are, perhaps, unknown at this time. Stay strong in Him and know that God’ s loving and healing hand is with Kortni… continuing in prayer for strength, healing and peace.

    Christine (Davey) Thompson
    … Susie’s friend

    Reply
  6. Hi Kortni – sending prayers and best wishes from Australia for a new liver to be found and popped inside you as soon as possible, Take care and keep the faith.,

    Love and hugs,
    Linda.

    Reply
  7. Kortni,

    We’ve been praying for ya down here in Chile. Keep strong and know that we love you!

    Love,
    Olivia, Valentina, and Jason

    Reply
  8. Hello Kortni,

    Keeping you in my prayers!!!

    Love
    Lisa Edwards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

