RSS Feed

The Liver is now in

Posted on

Hello all,

I posted last night that they had found a liver. The surgery was set for 4am then around 11pm they came in and said we have a change of plans, surgery starts at 2am. So we woke up early and saw her off to the O.R. Only 4 hours later the Doctor comes in and says the liver is working great, surgery went great but the only issue was that her breathing (o2 stat) was kind of low but they weren’t to worried about it. They still took out the breathing tube and she’s headed to ICU as we speak.

Kelly: One of the Doctors just came in and asked Kelly how she was doing and said you need to get out of this place and go home and rest. You know your sister is fine now and you need to be able to go home and rest and focus on you getting better. πŸ™‚ So hopefully she will be out of this place by today or tomorrow!

We appreciate everything everyone has been doing. All the comments have been so uplifting and personally that’s what has been keeping me positive and motivated. THANK YOU!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

30 responses »

  1. Baruch HaShem!!! Praise God!!! We are all praying. He is our miracle working God. Shalom, Shalom Laurie Nessl

    Reply
  2. Way to go guys! God Bless you and your family. Now you guys can start working on the rest of you life and put all this behind you. You guys are such an inspiration! Much love and happiness to you and yours!

    Reply
  3. PRAISE GOD!!!!!! SO VERY HAPPY SHE IS DOING GREAT!!!!! LOVE YOU ALL!!!!!

    Reply
    • Love you too! I am pretty happy I am doing great too… I have never had normal liver labs before…. and now they are all within range!!! It’s amazing!!!

      Reply
  4. Super news, Blessings to the donors family for their loss. If you have any questions about healing and life after a liver transplant, just call me! Major hugs !! Your new life is just starting!

    Reply
  5. God bless you all!

    Reply
  6. Delighted to read this news in the middle of my Australian night.
    Blessings to Kortni, Coleman and the whole family. A special hug for Kelly.
    Sending love and prayers of support to ease and comfort the donor family.
    Thank God for Donor Families – I too live because of my liver transplant.

    Health and healing for Kortni and rest for you all.

    Love and hugs,
    Linda.

    Reply
  7. Hello Kortni and family. My prayers for you are on overtime. . My daughter Briana gave me part of her liver 537 days ago. Our doctors were Roberts and Ascher as well. I had a few minor set backs but I am here to say that God put you in the BEST possible hands with Dr. Roberts. YOU will pull through this ( as you are ) and live a wonderful life! Tell Dr. Roberts and Dr. Ascher hello from the Scarr Ladies! We are forever grateful to them. God bless you beautiful girl and to your beautiful sister – Cyndi Scarr :0)

    Reply
    • Dr. Roberts is great. Poor guy was very upset by Kelly’s liver not working, understandably so…It was funny, I have another friend who had roberts as her surgeon and she saw him at a transplant picnic the day after my first transplant, and she told him she knew me, and he was like… you do!?! haha

      Reply
  8. Let the healing begin. Prayers to all and a special message to the donor family.

    So sorry for terrible loss but I hope you find comfort in knowing that your wonderful gift has changed the life of a beautiful young woman, her loving fiance’, her fantastic family and her entire community. Everytime we see her beautiful smile or hear her infectious laughter we will forever be grateful for you. Very sad that our joy is at such a great expense to you but please know your loved one will always be our hero and never be forgotten. God bless you all!!!!!!!!

    Reply
    • That is a wonderful message and I couldn’t agree more. I am so very thankful to them and will forever be touched and blessed and live my life to the fullest in honor of their son, my donor! And for my sister, who saved my life from the get-go!

      Reply
  9. That is so wonderful!!! Glad this surgery went well!! Will be praying that it takes!!!

    Reply
  10. Kortni Glad Transplant #2 is looking good, God bless the donor family for there loss but also for helping save your life. Also you are very lucky to have such a loving sister as Kelly for being a living donor even though it rejected she is still a HERO in the eyes of many. I will be keeping you, Kelly and your entire family and your donor family in my thoughts and prayers God Bless you.
    Beth Zeilstra

    Reply
    • I am so thankful for the donor and his family! I have been given not one amazing selfless gift but two! It’s mind boggling! She will always be my hero because she made this entire thing possible. Thank you so much for the prayers!

      Reply
  11. hello my friends! i have been thinking about you all allday!!! i pray all is going well!!!!! please let me know when you can how she is doing. if you can let me know how kelly is too. much love sent to all of you!!!!!! love, DEE

    Reply
    • Sorry it took so long to respond Dee! We are both doing good now, minus the kidney infection which should be cleared up soon! Thank you for your sweet comment πŸ™‚

      Reply
  12. What a relief for all of you ! Grats to Kelly on getting to go home…………Kortni, I’m so happy that your new life has started ! I’m hoping the whole family can now sit and take a deep breath and feel blessed . Continued prayers heading your way.

    Reply
  13. Our God is Awesome! What a roller coaster of the last few days, but we are praising Him for His protection and provision. So many people have been praying for you both here (including Christopher!) and we will continue to pray for rest and healing. We love you guys and look forward to seeing you soon!

    Reply
  14. What wonderful news! Glad it went well…hope you may go home very soon.
    Sending lots of prayers and love your way..

    Reply
  15. We love you all!! Hang in there and we are praying extra hard for everyone!! πŸ™‚ Kortni, you are so strong, and I know you’ve got this!! You can overcome anything with God by your side, and he obviously is!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  16. Just thinking of you…..continually!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

