RSS Feed

Home Sweet Home

Posted on

I am home! We got discharged today around 2:30pm. I was bummed, I was hoping to get to see just how bad my old cirrhotic liver was from pathology lab but they couldn’t get it for me. They told me they would take pictures for me and send them to one of my surgeons. The ride home wasn’t too bad, it was easier than I thought it was going to be. The best part of the day? Seeing my liver giver! Yeah, we stopped by Kelly’s on our way home, compared battle wounds/scars and I shared with her my amazing set of new NORMAL liver labs! Almost every liver lab is back within normal range, I’ve always hoped for this day… and it is here now! Those are what make it real for me, seeing the proof in the pudding. I loved seeing my labs today!

For the next 2-3 months I go to UCSF every Tuesday for an appointment and to get blood drawn every Monday and Thursday from Kaiser. It will be crazy but… umm I have a NEW LIVER! I am just so excited all the time. I am still really overwhelmed by my new protcocol, we stopped by Kaiser on our way home and picked up my entire new protocol of anti-rejection meds plus all the other stuff they have me on. I will be quite immune-compromised for the next 6 months-1 year. So, as much as I would love to have you come visit, and please do! just don’t come if have or think you might have a cold. Thank you and sorry =)

I think I pet Delaney (my dog) for an hour when I got home tonight. She was so happy to see us! And I was so happy to see her. It’s so nice to be home. I may be sleeping in the chair for the next few nights, especially with this heartburn I’ve been having from my cellcept anti-rejection meds. I had to say bye to all my favorite doctors and nurses today, I was so sad (Bye Dr. J!)…. the nurses (with only like 2-3 exceptions in 11 days) were absolutely amazing! They truly make your hospital stay what it is, and almost all of my nurses were phenomenal.

Well, I am truly exhausted, somehow I always find a way to manage to get a few words out for a blog late at night, but then I end up going back and finding like 100 mistakes that I make. I will try to stop while I am ahead haha… When you fight the sleep too much when your body is falling asleep typing sentences, that is when you start to think really crazy like hallucinations. I just woke up to someone yelling “taylor swift: you’re on” like we were on set. Yep, goodnight!

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chopped Liver, LiverWorst, and Sisters | LiverWorst

  2. You are so inspiring! Love reading your story! Keeping you and your family in my prayers.

    Sherrell (heart recipient)

    Reply
  3. You are so cute. Welcome home. It must be a fantastic feeling. Keep the updates coming. Rest and heal well. Let me know when you are up to a visit, I can hardly wait. Love and hugs to all.

    Reply
  4. I am so happy for you! You are such an inspiration! You and your family are in my prayers every day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

