RSS Feed

Kelly’s Appointment & JP Mishap

Posted on

Kelly had her first follow-up clinic appointment yesterday with her surgeon. As she arrived the head of transplant went up to her, in a room full of about 30 other patients, and gave her this big speech on how Kelly is a hero for saving my life and how UCSF just wanted to thank her and that even though Kelly’s liver didn’t work for me, she is still the reason why I am alive. They gave her a thank you card and a blanket that says “UCSF Transplant” that was wrapped up all nice with a cute buckle. Kelly said she got bright red because she went on for a few minutes and everyone was staring. I think it’s awesome because Kelly is MY HERO!! As is the young man who lost his life and gave me the gift of life with a 2nd liver!

The rest of Kelly’s appointment went well, her surgeon says she is doing great. She can walk as much as she wants to and can even start lifting 3 pound arm weights if she wants (Kelly likes to work-out, she could probably kick my butt).

Kelly got her labs back and they are all normal, with the exception of one of her liver function labs, its maybe 10 points elevated, which is to be expected considering half of her liver was removed and she is working on growing it back! So that is good news.

I get my labs drawn tomorrow, I can’t wait to see what they are. That is the most exciting part for me, watching my labs, because for so many years I was always hopeful every time I had labs drawn but was always let down. Now, the proof is in the pudding! I have normal liver function labs! That is what makes it real for me, because I am still having pain and recovery can be rough but when I look at my labs, that is when it becomes real. And so very exciting!

I’m not sure if I have mentioned this but I was sent home with a drainage tube that they stitched into the side of my stomach. I will make a very long story short and just say that the drain is clogged and it is creating quite the mess of leakage to the tune of 150ml/day. I have a doctors appointment in the morning, hopefully my Kaiser doctor can help me with this issue. I also hope I am able to get some sleep tonight with this going on…

Other than that I am doing pretty good I think. I am still struggling with pain though. I am also working on getting the rest of the pictures uploaded! I have found that a lot of times my day may have a bad beginning but that doesn’t mean it stays bad, often times it can be a great day with just a bad start. This reminds me of a quote on the wall on the transplant floor that I saw…

“Just because it is a misty morning, doesn’t mean it will be a rainy day!”

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

Leave a Reply

