RSS Feed

No sleep- thank you prednisone!

Posted on

It is 4:30am on Monday morning and I cannot sleep. I blame my new steroids. Praise God that today is my last dose at 15mg. Every week I decrease my prednisone by 2.5mg until I am finally down to 5mg. Hopefully one day I will be able to stop prednisone altogether, in good time. I hear that the best thing I can do is be patient with my recovery, that there is an anti-climax and that the point I am at now, a lot of people get frustrated. Which is true…

I made my first non-doctor trip out yesterday! My mom and I went to Lowe’s and Safeway. It was so great to be able to get out for the day, get dressed, put on make-up and feel somewhat normal while shopping! Granted I kind of look like the hunchback of notre dame. And if anyone makes me laugh I kind of want to cry because it hurts more than anything in the world to laugh, which is a huge problem for me because I find joy and pleasure in everything and I constantly have a smile on my face. Especially since Coleman came home from working last night, I haven’t laughed so hard all week, I love and hate it at the same time. I miss him so incredibly much when he is gone!

Coleman is taking me bright and early to Kaiser to get my blood drawn at 9am. Then it is off to Kelly’s for the day where we will spend the night and go to UCSF together in the morning for our clinic appointments at 8:30am and 9:00am.

Yesterday we had to call Dr. Roberts again at our 24 hour hotline. He was the surgeon on call so he called us back. (Can I tell you how great this phone line is!!) I was having trouble breathing, granted I hadn’t taken a pain pill for over 9 hours. I cannot begin to tell you how tight my stomach feels. I get my staples out tomorrow! I have lost 23 pounds since my surgery. It’s great! I love being skinny again. It was all water weight.

I don’t know if I mentioned this but the other day I was covered in water blisters all over my torso. It was the same day that my drainage hole closed up so I think it was just my body’s way of trying to get rid of the excess water. They are gone now.

….I started this post early this morning but my computer crashed, thankfully I had hit save draft (I’ve learned my lesson before). I am now at Kelly’s house and had my blood drawn this morning. It took 3 vicious pokes. However, Manteca Kaiser uses the good tape that sticks to itself, so it prevents me from bruising. Modesto won’t use it because of “allergies”… big hospitals…

I love being with my sister, we are both lazy bums who don’t do anything all day hahah….

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

Leave a Reply

