RSS Feed

Great News!!!

Posted on

Last night was my 3rd night sleeping in a real bed. This morning was the first time I was able to get out of said bed by myself, without any help! Improvement makes me happy. Granted, I wish I had tried that last night when I woke my mom up at 2am for help. Poor mom. Anyways, I slept pretty rough last night because both of my arms are still so bruised and sore and because I have cut my pain pills way back, I am not getting the coverage that my arms need. I hate to take the strongest pain pill they make though for a bruised arm!

So this morning my dad took me to go get my blood drawn. I asked my mom to call my transplant coordinator while we were gone. I wanted to see if I maybe I could get a prescription for a pain killer that wasn’t as strong (I am on dilaudid, the strongest there is). I wanted to try maybe percocet/oxycodone or something. Instead, my transplant coordinator’s solution for my arm pain was to decrease my blood draws from twice a week to once a week! YAY!!! I can heal from once a week but not so much from twice a week, I blink and it was time to be poked again. There is such a big difference between every 3 days and every 7 days!

On a fun note, being that we were already in Modesto, Coleman was there at our storage unit moving his stuff with his new roommate. I got to finally meet his roommate and good friend (I was always too sick before) and my dad helped them load the moving truck up. Then I finally, after 6 months of being too sick to go to the mall and get mascara, was able to go to the mall and get my waterproof mascara! Improvement =)

Now, to be at home and rest! I can’t tell you how great it feels to have a heating pad on my painful, bruised arms. (And the nurses always told me it was a good sign that my arms were what was bothering me, but I don’t know because it feels like it got ran over a few times by a car!)

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kortni,

    Just checking in on you. I look forward to your post but haven’t seen one lately. Everything ok?

    You and your family are in my prayers

    Reply
    • Hi Joe! I haven’t been feeling very well the last few days. I am not sure what is going on… but you are right, I am slacking! Thanks for the reminder =D I will post today! Thank you so VERY much for your prayers!!! And it makes me happy to know that someone actually noticed I hadn’t posted haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

