RSS Feed

Not feeling so hot

Posted on

I am sorry I haven’t posted in 5 days. Wow, how time flies! I haven’t been feeling very good and to be honest, not very much is new. I have learned that recovery isn’t a steady incline, it is an up and down bumpy road that will eventually somehow get you to the top, even if it has some downhill inclines. After having a kidney infection, a clogged JP drain and other mishaps, I still haven’t become used to these downhill inclines.

For the last few days I have had zero energy. I can barely get out of my chair. I don’t have a fever but yesterday I had a slight runny nose, stomach ache and I’ve been extremely emotional. I really think most of the emotional stuff is from my steroids which have been known to cause emotional ups and downs in people. I have no idea what this fatigue is about. We called our 24 doctor line at UCSF, oh and by “we” I mean my mom did. The surgeon that called us back was very nice. She thought I should go to ER to get labs done right away but we told her I had a standing order and could just go get my blood drawn a day early (normally I get it done today, on Monday’s). She said that was a great idea.

Well, my labs came back fairly normal. My TAC level, which measures the level of prograf (my anti-rejection medication) in my blood has not come back yet though. It has been on the low side for my last two blood draws, regardless of the fact that they keep increasing my amount of it. So that has my a little worried, hopefully it will be back sometime today. However, the doctor said that fatigue is not a sign of rejection, so that is good. I just don’t know why I feel like this. When I stand for too long I shake like a leaf!

On a positive note, I asked the surgeon if I could take unisom to help me sleep (basically it is benadryl), she said yes, and for the first time since my transplant, I slept 7-8 hours without waking up! Praise God! Now I need to go buy more unisom today!

I had heard before my transplant that at about 3 weeks recovery can become frustrating. My friends from the Transplant Community Outreach (support group on facebook) informed me of this. Let me give a quick shout out and thank you to all my friends from there and all my other transplant and liver patient friends. You are all amazing and I so appreciate your time, kindness and wisdom that you have shared with me. And thank you Rex and Linda (the groups creators/moderators and a very fine couple and transplant survivor and over comer)! If you are a liver or transplant patient or caregiver you should join the “The Transplant Community Outreach” group on facebook, 3,000 amazing people!

Back to the 3 weeks of frustration… well, it is true. My mind and body feel like, “Let’s go! We have a new liver, it is play time”. But then my incision and the rest of my body say “hahah you are crazy, we must rest”. Thus begins the battle. And I am afraid to admit that I am not a very patient person at all. I just want to go and be normal, I finally feel good (with the exception of the last few days). But it is frustrating but all you can do is lay it down at God’s feet and continue to count your blessing. And let me tell you, by the time you are done counting, it will be time for bed because God is just that AMAZING! It is where you keep your focus that will determine how you recover. So if you are recovering or even just going through a hard time and are impatient like me, I implore you to count your blessing and be thankful for every little thing. Keep your eyes on the future and thank God for the present.

And if you are looking for some encouraging books to read… let me tell you, the bible is as good as it gets! Let me suggest reading Ephesians, James and Psalms! I love those books!

It is September already! Fall is right around the corner so relish these warm days. My dad says there are a lot of acorns and that could possibly mean an early winter. But, with the weather these days, who knows, I wouldn’t be surprised if it stayed summer all year long. Crazy weather! Thanks again for all your support and reading my blog. I love, love, love getting your comments on here!

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:16-21

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

Leave a Reply

