RSS Feed

Dear Body

Posted on

My dearest body,

I realize you have been through hell and back. I just wanted to tell you that I love you and that everything is going to be alright. It will get better. In the meantime, I must say you have me quite confused. Why do I now have a blood clot, back pain, referred shoulder pain and a gurgling liver?! It feels like all the pain receptors in my body are having a frat party and I am the guest of honor! (Really, it’s not as exciting as it sounds). Please, relax or I will have to call the doctor. I don’t think I can handle this level of pain, especially when it is extremely confusing. I don’t understand any of it and although I realize that it’s normal, (or is it??) I have to say I am not a huge fan. If you wanted to write me a letter explaining the purpose of this pain party and why there is so much pain in different areas, that would be grand. In the meantime, chill out with the pain! I would love to get some uninterrupted sleep. This waking up and moving to the chair every night due to pain is not my idea of fun.

Now that you understand that this pain needs to stop, I would like to offer you some hope. I know the pain isn’t your fault and soon enough we will be running, swimming, camping, getting married, going to work and back to school! I know mr. brain has missed school a lot, it has always been fun. Hang on to the hope of tomorrow and focus on it, not this crazy pain.

Love me

As for me, it is off to go get blood drawn, pray for an easy poke and good veins! Thanks!

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

4 responses »

  1. yes yes yes for the getting married part.

    Dear Kortni’s body, hurry up and heal and let her feel better so she can get back to normalcy.
    Love,
    her future brother in-law

    Reply
  2. Still amazing me with your phenomenal attitude. The least your body could do for you today would be to open up that poking vein and allow for a swift and painless draw. I bet it sometimes seems that nicking yourself and letting them collect the blood as it drips might be easier and less painful. Ewww, I just grossed myself out. :-p

    Reply
    • My favorite guy was there to draw my blood today! Kimon, he is awesome, my buddy. I was terrified because I got there and it was three that can’t draw at all… I was so upset lol… then I saw Kimon walk down the hall. I ran up to him and asked if he was working… he said he was coming back from break~! I almost jumped with joy hahahha…. He got me first poke and I didn’t even feel it. I told him I didn’t know what I would do without him… I was so thankful for an easy poke and a friendly face.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

