RSS Feed

A Little Rest

Posted on

Finally, with the pain killers, the pain has been controlled! I have been feeling much better. Also, the pain of the broken ribs has been decreasing. I have been needing less pain killers, I even went 16 hours without one and was ok. So I am very thankful for that.

However, I don’t know if it is the new pain killers, my body healing or the increase in prograf (my anti-rejection med, I am on a pretty high dosage)… but I have been sleeping all day and all night! I never sleep during the day and never at the drop of a hat. I’ve been falling asleep mid-sentence. Extreme fatigue. However, the sleep has been wonderful. Very relaxing and probably much needed since I really haven’t slept much since the transplant. I have also been having numb/tingling feeling all over my body and I am almost certain that is from the prograf.

The other MAJOR side effect I am dealing with, whether it be just post-surgery complication, pain killer or prograf I do not know. I can’t eat. I mean my appetite is totally gone! Absolutely nothing sounds good to me. I am lucky if I get in a few hundred calories. My parents and I are working on this but it is hard. And then I take pills on empty stomach and get nauseous and well, it is a vicious cycle. Oh well… this too shall pass.

I looked in the mirror again yesterday… bright blue eyes. This still amazes me and makes me happy. I do not miss having yellow eyes!! They are bright white and oh so healthy. It is like seeing into the future almost or a prediction of the future… bright and healthy. =)

I can’t believe it has been 6 weeks almost since the transplant! Kelly is doing great, she just still needs her daily cat naps in the afternoon. I miss being able to go outside without having to worry about the sun. They say 80-100% of people (I’ve heard both statistics) get skin cancer 15-20 years post transplant, I HAVE to wear sunscreen every day. If you know me, that is a foreign concept and putting it on everyday is just weird for me. The things we have to get used to…

My sister and her kiddos are staying this coming week with us. That means I get lots of time holding my new little niece (3 months old) and playing with my cute nephews. Well, when I am not snoozing!

Other good news: This is the first week since I have been home that I have gone an entire week without calling the UCSF emergency line. I didn’t have any need to. =)

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a great week. Good for you. I imagine the tired is a combination of all plus all the hours in surgery. If Kelly is still needing her cat naps what do you think your body needs. Haha. Well keep up the good progress and I pray for fewer bumps on your bright and healthy road. Hugs.

    Lorraine

    Reply
  2. Good point! Thank you again… I love your encouragement and I am praying that your etsy takes off! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

