RSS Feed

Put one foot in front of the other…

Posted on

Sorry I haven’t posted much this week… I have just not been feeling very good. I am still waiting on my results for the CMV and C-diff testing. I had labs drawn yesterday and my prograf/tac level (measure of how much anti-rejection medication is in my body) was too high. That means I could be toxic and have a lot of side-effects. It could explain why I am feeling so bad lately. They lowered my prograf level for the 2nd time this week! Which is good, the less I am on, the better for my immune system.

In addition to lowering my prograf level, they changed my other anti-rejection medication. I am no longer taking cell-cept and they put me on myfortic, in hopes that it will help my stomach problems and to help me feel better. This is the game I get to play for a while… ups and downs and trying to figure out the perfect mix of medicines for me.

My white blood cell count (which is basically a measure of my immune system) was low. I am just feeling “sickly”. However, my mind is racing and wants to go! I am so bored and ready to live life. I will tell you what, transplant patients have to be the most patient people in the world! I keep hearing everyone say it can take 6 months-1 year before I start to feel better! Hey, I guess I will just consider this vacation time then and enjoy it.

The good news about my labs is that they are improved! After 3 weeks of a downhill spiral in all of my labs (except for the liver function labs, those have always been great), they took a turn for the better. My platelets are up, clotting time is down, iron is up… Oh! And I am starting to get my appetite back a little. I am finally off of dilaudid and now only have to take norco every once in a while for pain.

I was also able to take a walk down to my mailbox yesterday (it is down a long dirt driveway). My calves are sore now from walking up it. That is the kind of pain I like though! I have always loved the “burn” of working out my muscles. It seems weird to me that the mailbox is far (I think it was more of the hill that did me in) and I am excited for the day when that will be nothing.

To those who have continued to pray for me, I really appreciate it. It is a rough recovery… but I know once I do recover I am going to be the healthiest girl around. Besides, I will finally be married to the love of my life! I think it is time to start planning a wedding!

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

5 responses »

  1. Was that last sentence for me??????

    Reply
    • Haha I guess I didn’t really think about it but… yeah! We want to start throwing around ideas! I would love to meet up maybe next week, if that works for you?

      Reply
  2. Thank you for bring us on your journey, I am embarking on my own, my dad just donated his liver to my mom yesterday

    Reply
    • Yes, I remembered. I was meaning to ask you how that went… how are they doing?? I pray they are doing well and that you holding up also that both of them would have a speedy recovery. I know they must be extremely grateful for you!

      Reply
      • So far my dad is great, still lots of pain for both of them, my mom’s not out of bed yet, they said it’s still to soon. I have no idea what’s happened on her side as her doctors have yet to talk to me, and that’s very frustrating! But today I’m gonna get to the bottom of it, as I have some other family members coming up to help me out the next few days. Glad to see your feeling better!

Leave a Reply

