RSS Feed

What is normal?

Posted on

In talking to my friend today I realize how many people, including myself before I was sick, take life for granted. Living and doing normal things is such a blessing because it means you are healthy. I have started driving myself into town (I find excuses just because I want to get out), I also cleaned my car out yesterday, vacuumed, played with my dog… you know, normal things! Normal things that are complete blessings because of a miracle that was given to me! Having the energy, the mobility, the ability to take a full deep breath… things that get taken for granted. Even things that didn’t affect me before I am grateful for. I never had problems with walking/legs but I find myself being thankful for the ability to walk.

Quite honestly, normal is addicting. It is exciting to do the silly things most people find mundane. I can’t stop myself… that is until I do so much “normal” that my body stops me from doing more. The last few days I was enjoying pushing myself, doing typical things and today I wake up exhausted barely able to move. I am still in my PJs, sitting here with a pillow staring outside wondering when my body will let me out of this “break time jail”. Rest is so overrated! haha I can just hear all the people in my life rolling their eyes telling me it will take time. I spent enough time sick… but I do realize it will take time. Fine, at least I am going to enjoy every second of it, even if that means I have to enjoy my “break time jail” my body seems to have imposed on me today.

On a different note, Kelly went to UCSF yesterday to have a CT scan of her kidney. We both have slightly reverted to being a little hunchback at times because our stomach muscles just hurt. She is also having additional pain and her kidneys are being funky. Hopefully we will know the results of the CT scan soon and they will be able to tell her what she can do. I hate, hate, hate seeing her not at 100%. She was supposed to go back to work Nov. 1 but they extended that to Dec. 1.

If anyone has any ideas on boredom busters, I am all ears.

It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver. -Gandhi

Always do what you are afraid to do. -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thankfulness is the key to happiness.

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

5 responses »

  1. Kortni – I can relate very well to “normal” – I am well enough now to enjoy “ordinary days” and I welcome them with open arms. Ordinary Day how I ached for you, cried for you, prayed for you and pleaded for you. And now I relish every ordinary day of my second chance at life.

    I am glad to hear you are out and about and enjoying “ordinary” things.

    Love and hugs,
    Linda.

    Reply
  2. HI Kort,

    Sounds like you are ready for some crafting time. The holidays are coming. There are millions of great and fun crafts to make for the gift giving time of year. Get busy and have some fun. And our new Jo-Anns opens 11-11-11. Not too far off.

    Hugs, Lorraine

    PS: prayers for all especially Kelly

    Reply
    • Oh how I love crafts!! That is a good idea. What to make, what to make… Any ideas? (besides sewing stuff). Oh yay! I can’t wait for it to open!! I was so excited when I found out we were getting one haha. I saw that big lots was open already the other day….

      Reply
  3. Kortni,
    Try a web site that I found and throughly enjoy. Pinterest.com tons of decorating and craft ideas. I have become “addicted” ha ha. Always something interesting there. Happy crafting. Prayers for you and Kelly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

