RSS Feed

3 Months!

Posted on

This past Tuesday I had my 3 month (well, 11 week) UCSF appointment. They are pleased with my progress. They have moved my labs to once a month! (yay!!) And my next appointment isn’t for another 3 months. Wow! Also, apparently they have a UCSF clinic in Modesto where I will be seen from here on out, no more trips to the city. I am excited to finally be moving on but at the same time I am like, geez kick me to the curb why don’t ya. I mean they did cut me open twice. But the good news is that I am doing better!

After my appointment Kelly, my mom and I went to the Ferry Market and got my beloved chocolate. You know, the kind I had in the hospital! Delicious! We also went shopping. Finally… some real fun in San Francisco! Thank you Jesus for giving me a sister that was willing to risk her life to save mine and a young man willing to give his own organs to save me so that I can go shopping, but more importantly that I can live, love and laugh.

I have been waking up every morning still with wheezing from my pleural effusion (fluid on my lungs). They say it can take months and months for that to go away. I have also been very tired, after only 2 hours of shopping I am fried. They say it can take a long time to get your energy back, especially with having had 2 transplants. So I keep pushing on, fighting the fatigue.

The good thing about this is I am feeling better. I am so thankful I have the ABILITY to push and to grow stronger. What a blessing. Don’t take anything for granted. Whether it is your job and waking up and being able to stand up straight (it takes me about an hour after waking to stand up straight). Everything in life, every breath we take without hindrance is a blessing!

About Kortni

I received a living donor liver transplant from my amazing and selfless sister, when it failed, I got a 2nd transplant 4 days later from my other hero! I have an amazing family and wonderful, supportive boyfriend. I love hiking, photography, natural health care, being outdoors and crafts. Did I mention that Jesus is my best friend and He has blessed me immeasurably!

5 responses »

  1. Please remember that God gave you these miracles. There are so many that need the liver and not enugh to go around. God Bless You and good wishes for your recovery. May God be with you.

    Reply
    • I could never forgot what God has given me! His miracles blow my mind every day! I have a beautiful scar and beautiful memories to remind me of His loving kindness every day. Thank you !

      Reply
  2. Hi Kortni,

    Have been following your blog for a while – what an amazing journey. You really are a brave young lady – lets hope things continue to improve for you!

    Out of interest, I wonder in a future blog, if you might reflect on how this journey started – your initial and then ongoing symptoms, the diagnosis and how you felt and subsequently coped with work/life etc, through to the decision to undergo the transplant. It might be useful for those of us recently diagnosed to understand what you went through pre-op, so as to draw further hope and inspiration.

    thanks

    Peter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

