RSS Feed

Cold, Prayer and Oakland Children’s Hospital

Posted on

I have my first cold since my transplant. This is something that I’ve been dreading because I hear they suck because my immune system is depressed and they can tend to stick around longer. However, I am believing for a quick recovery. Last night, I couldn’t even swallow without crying because my throat hurt so bad. I went and woke Coleman up and he prayed for my throat and sinuses. My throat pain improved about 50% as did my breathing. I am still quite sick but at least I can swallow without wincing! Thank you Jesus! I love that He hears our prayers and cares. The other good thing is that my white blood cells (which are indicative of my immune system) are what they were before my transplant, so I’m hoping I will be able to fight it off just as fast. Why am I so anxious to get rid of this cold? Well, for one thing it’s a cold and they suck… but also, my birthday is on Monday! Thanksgiving is Thursday and I fly to Florida next Friday! I can’t wait! (boo I miss black friday as I will be flying all day).

Also, since I slipped my rib last week, it is still hurting. It has been hurting so bad the last few nights I’ve slept in the chair. As do the wounds from where 4 moles were removed. My body is kind of an overhaul right now. I also have stress on top of it.

I had a comment on my last blog asking I post some about how I was diagnosed, my decision process in going forward with a living donor transplant, etc, etc. I thought that it was a great idea and I plan on doing so in the future. Possibly in December once, birthday, Thanksgiving and Florida/Georgia vacation is over!

I have a prayer request too. This time it’s not for me or my sister, it is for my sweet, beautiful 5 month old niece, Bella Grace. She was admitted to Oakland Children’s hospital yesterday for a week of treatment. She started the ketogenic diet in hopes of controlling her seizures, which have increased in frequency since yesterday. Please pray for complete healing for lil bella girl and for the family. The diet lowers her blood sugar so low she has to be monitored at all times as she goes into ketosis. Bella was born was severe vision problems and her brain didn’t fully develop which causes seizures and other problems. Your prayers are appreciated!

Update on Bella Grace from my mom: Pray for our precious Bella Grace. She’s in Oakland Children’s Hospital, needs monitoring for a very difficult, specialized diet, hoping it will reduce or cure her seizures. Her glucose dropped too low tonight, had to give apple juice, then it went way high, meaning we now have to almost start over, trying to get it down “again”. Nerve wracking to say the least…..Having seizures almost every hour is not fun!

Leave a Reply

